Question

Changing Attribute Name

• 9 February 2022
  • 4 replies

Badge +1

Hello,

I'm an FME novice. This is my first workspace of any complexity at all, and it is based off of https://community.safe.com/s/article/how-to-read-all-feature-classes-from-multiple-esri.

I've inserted a couple testers, a reprojector, and an Attribute renamer to the wakthrough above. (The field name "CURRENT" causes and error in the SQL Insertion; likely because it is a SQL keyword). It MOSTLY works, and the process finishes successfully, however the Attribute rename doesn't work as expected. Instead of renaming "CURRENT" to "ECURRENT" as configured, it drops every field starting at "CURRENT" all the way up to the last field in the table.

This is obviously some sort of parameter/configuration issue that I'm overlooking. Can someone help me? I've attached the workspace.

4 replies

Badge +2

@lancec​ Welcome to the FME family. I think you're on the right track. Without being able to run your workspace I can't tie down the issue precisely but a couple of suggestions:

• keep the schema and data pipeline separate.
  • you might also have to rename the CURRENT on all the data features as well - use BulkAttributeRenamer
    • to do that expose CURRENT on the FeatureReader as you have for fme_feature_type
  • you can drop the Reprojector and just add EPSG:3857 as the ArcSDE writer Coordinate System (separate issue)

Badge +1

Hi Mark,