Solved

How can I temporarily limit the number of records that I'm reading from an ArcGIS feature layer?

• 12 January 2022
  • 8 replies

Badge +7

I'm trying to speed up the processing speed. There might be a few different ways to do this. I'm trying to make incremental changes to a workspace and every time I run it, it takes about 40 seconds.

I have two tables in ArcGIS and I use a FeatureJoiner to join them in FME. One of the tables has a data field. I'd like to only process a range of dates. I have about 8,000 records total and I'd like to limit it to 1,000 or so records. Once I get my workspace functioning correctly, I'd like to remove this date range limit. I'm very new to FME.

icon

Best answer by nielsgerrits 12 January 2022, 10:01

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +32

You probably can do this using the where clause in the reader.

What do you use to read the data? A classic reader or a FeatureReader?

Which type of reader? Esri ArcGIS Server Feature Service?

Userlevel 1
Badge +21

You should be able to do this under the reader parameters in the navigator

Userlevel 6
Badge +32

You should be able to do this under the reader parameters in the navigator

That was my initial thought as well, but he wants to read a specific date range.

I'd like to only process a range of dates.

Badge +7

You probably can do this using the where clause in the reader.

What do you use to read the data? A classic reader or a FeatureReader?

Which type of reader? Esri ArcGIS Server Feature Service?

Thanks for your response. The reader type shows: Esri ArcGIS Online (AGOL) Feature Service. When I double click on it, I see the Where clause in the Parameters tab. It looks straight forward. I'll try to fill it out now. I'm now thinking that I can use the objectid.