Question

Operate FME using Big Sur version

Hi, I'm new to FME and doing a training course coming Thursday, My company has uploaded FME software to my Thick Client but my PC has no C drive, but has a U drive, so all my defaults do not work. Someone who uses FME said download it to your personal computer but it's a iMac Big Sur (Intel chip) and won't open in this versions. Is there a work around for my Imac? I don't have confidence remapping all my defaults on PC U drive and it takes my IT department 3-4 days to reply to requests and another 4-5 days to figure it all out. Too late for my training course ready.

2 replies

Badge +20

I am just guessing, I haven't done this before:

• use a PATH Reader on your sample folder, set Path Filter to *.fmw, set Recurse into Subfolders to Yes
  • use a FeatureReader with Format set to FME Workspace (FMW) and Dataset to path_windows (or unix) attribute
  • use a StringReplacer to replace the "C:\\whathever\\" part of the source_dataset attribute from Readers (and Writers) featuretype to your new path (U:\\your_path), leave the rest of the featuretypes unchanged
  • use another StringReplacer to replace ".fmw" with "1.fmw" on the path_windows attribute
  • use a FeatureWriter set to Format: XML and Dataset: path_windows attribute (it will have a 1 in the name now)

There is a "minor" problem with setting the schema but I hope someone with more xml experience will suggest some improvements.

Best of luck!