Solved

Conditional Value in AttributeManager evaluates to nan when the value of an Attribute is "NAN".

Hello, newbie here.

I'm using AttributeManager to rename and remove some Attributes - and to add a new Attribute using a Conditional Value based upon (among others) an Attribute named IATA, which contains airport call letters. For San Francisco International Airport, IATA contains "SFO" but for Nadi International Airport, the IATA Attribute contains "NAN". No matter how I try to force FME to treat those call letters as a string, it eventually becomes "if NAN != null... and I get "nan" as the result. Pretty sure that's a bug (2019.2).

Note: Set Value with @Value(IATA) works fine with "NAN". It seems to be only the Conditional Value code that has the problem.

Does anyone have an idea how to conditionally process an Attribute that may contain the value "NAN" (or other values that might also be mathematical constants)?

icon

Best answer by markatsafe 19 November 2021, 22:13

View original

10 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +25

That's a very interesting issue. Just a few questions to start off with:

• What format is your source data in?
  • If you check the source data in the FME Data Inspector and look at Nadi International Airport, what does it show for the IATA attribute?

The source data is in JSON format, from a RESTful API. After the HTTPCaller, I break the JSON into Features with a JSONFragmenter. Then I feed the Features into the AttributeManager.

I haven't had time to get familiar with the Data inspector; I just used the Visual Preview on the JSONFragmenter and the AttributeManager. Both show the IATA Attribute as "NAN" (all caps, without the quotes) for the Nadi Feature, but AttributeManager shows "nan" (without the quotes) in the new Attribute with the Conditional Value, and that's what FME writes into the Postgres database.