Question

Hello! How to use lastools for drawing vektor of buildings from a lasfil point cloud?

• 11 March 2021
  • 8 replies

Badge

I am a student and trying to figure oute how to use las tools for atomaticely detekt edges of houses/building and then draw vektros. In my case I have a point cloud where I already cut off the terrain and stand left with the roof.

Are the some nice taransformer or a set up that I can use for this?

8 replies

Badge +1

There are probably other ways to do this, but the first thing that comes to mind is the following workflow:

1. Feed your pointcloud into a NumericRasterizer.

Since your pointcloud only contains roofs, this should result in a raster in which only the cells that are within the locations of your roofs will have a Z-value.

2. After the NumericRasterizer, use a RasterToPolygonCoercer.

This results in a polygon for every raster cell with a unique Z-value*.

3. After the RasterToPolygonCoercer, use a Dissolver to only keep outlines of the buildings.

* Depending on the size of your data and the chosen resolution within the NumericRasterizer, you might end up with a lot of cells. If you're only interested in the outlines of the roofs (and not the heights/height differences), you could use a RasterCellValueRounder and round the cell values to 0 decimals before getting your cells into the RasterToPolygonCoercer. This will significantly decrease the amount of unique Z-values and therefore decrease the amount of polygons being built.

Badge

Thank you then I will try this :)

Badge

Hello

I`ve tried a little now and the process works until I get to the writer part.

I want to write oute polyline/vektorlines and hawe a quite trubbl with that. I tryed SOSI/GML format but her is up to 50 different attributes so it is qute hard to figure oute wicth of them and then I was wondering if is not an easier writer to use.