Question

Translating from SHP to Oracle Spatial Object table results in bad geometries.

• 23 September 2019
  • 3 replies
  • 1 view

Badge

I am fairly new to FME and I am attempting some of my first translations from SHP files to Oracle Spatial Tables. Everything completes successfully apart from the following errors I get several times through the translation:

BADNEWS: An error occurred while fetching from query `SELECT table_name, column_name, DimInfo, SRID FROM USER_SDO_GEOM_METADATA' : OCI_NO_DATA (ocistmt.cpp:663)

I get additional errors when publishing after writing the features to the DB:

118904) Invalid geometry for component view V_STREETCTR_LN, FID 104594211, CID 1, and LTT_ID 0 - No geometry was produced, probably because of a mismatch of G3E_COMPONENT.G3E_GEOMETRYTYPE and the actual geometry, or because of an un-supported SDO_GType.

I have tried this across multiple features and run into the same problems each time.

Has anyone run into these issues translating from SHP to Oracle using FME?

Sample Workspace:

Log:

3 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +12

If I am not mistaken, the G3E table is a Hexagon GTech table (in Oracle spatial).

Those tables contain Oracle triggers to check the geometry type.

This seems to be a GTech constraint, rather than an Oracle Spatial error.

Hope this helps looking for a solution.

Badge

If I am not mistaken, the G3E table is a Hexagon GTech table (in Oracle spatial).

Those tables contain Oracle triggers to check the geometry type.

This seems to be a GTech constraint, rather than an Oracle Spatial error.

Hope this helps looking for a solution.

I am disabling all triggers on the tables in question prior to running the data in.

Userlevel 4

I haven't seen these particular errors, but the BADNEWS errors are FME debug messages and not necessarily anything to worry about. Unless you really need them I would consider deactivating them (personally I only very rarely look at them anyway).