Question

ESRI shapefile to GML not correctly generated from application schema

• 15 November 2017
  • 1 reply

I am trying to transform an ESRI shapefile to a GML.

To generate the GML I use a template/schema (supplied by the recipient). Unfortunately the result does not look like the delivered example .

Because of this, the file will not be accepted.

How can this be corrected? I am fairly new to this so please try to keep it simple.

Below is the template/schema

1) First of all the naming is incorrect, rws:Objecten is expected but gml:FeatureCollection is generated.

2) Below that, I expect the xmlns extensions to be underneath each other instead of in one line.

3) Also gml:id="GML-ID-0" should be behind rws:Objecten but it is somewhere else.

4) It also generates gml:boundedBy, this is not in the source data.

5) gml:pointProperty is created instead of rws:puntObject.

6) Inside gml:pointProperty, naming and positioning is different.

Why is this happening and how can I generate a GML that looks exactly like the example XML format?

If you need to see/test it for yourself, .

Thanks in advance.

1 reply

Badge +6

Hello @jomme,

1) The reason that gml:FeatureCollection is being generated over rws:Objecten, is due to a parent/child id not being created to link the features. As such, if you add an AttributeCreator to the Objecten feature(with an attribute of gml_id = *value you wish to have*, along with an AttributeCreator on the pObject feature with gml_parent_id *matching the gml_id value on Objecten). This will link the features so that you will have rws:Objecten rather than gml:FeatureCollection. If you remove these, you should see the gml:FeatureCollection return.

2/3) I suspect gml:id and gml:boundedby are as a result of specifying the GML Version as 3.2.1 rather than Application Schema(setting this will allow the writer to write to the version that is specified in the Application Schema).