Question

Looking for the best way to calculate distances between 2 points of non-spatial data

• 3 October 2017
  • 9 replies

Hi

I am still new to FME and would like to find out the best/easiest/quickest way to calculate lengths of pipe sections. In this case the distance between S01 and F01 (3.8-0.6 = 3.2). The tricky bit is that there are sometimes more than 1 pipe section per Inspec_ID which need calculating, ie S02/F02, S03/F03 etc.

Thanks in advance

J

9 replies

Userlevel 4
Would it be possible for you to post a small sample dataset? I'm sure it would be very helpful for those wanting to assist :-)
Would it be possible for you to post a small sample dataset? I'm sure it would be very helpful for those wanting to assist :-)
Sure, there you go @david_r

book1.xlsx
Userlevel 4

So I'm not sure if I understood exactly what you need, but here's a sample workspace that calculates distances between S01-F01, S02-F02, etc. Unfortunately it isn't trivial (if I've understood the requirements correctly), so I ended up with some Python to do the actual list calculations.

The section lengths are output in the list attributes lengths{}.distance and lengths{}.name

Output from the sample dataset:

`lengths{0}.distance' has value `3.1999999999999997'`lengths{0}.name' has value `S01-F01'`lengths{1}.distance' has value `85.3'`lengths{1}.name' has value `S02-F02'`lengths{2}.distance' has value `4.299999999999997'`lengths{2}.name' has value `S03-F03'`lengths{3}.distance' has value `5.200000000000003'`lengths{3}.name' has value `S04-F04'

section-lengths.fmwt

If you need one feature per section, use a ListExploder on lengths{}. You can then also use the AttributeRounder on the distance values, if needed.

Badge

Hi @johannhurter

thank you for the data sample. I think the workflow might be

Userlevel 2
Badge +17