Question

CSS Selector for HTNL extractor

Badge +11

Hi guys

I'm trying to understand how to extract data from website but it's very hard (I'm not a python expert so FME is the perfect solution but......)

If I inspect the webpage it's very easy to extract the css selector then ........ it's very hard to use in FME

for ex I have this css selector for different value

#ctl00_mainIndexContent_pnlRisultati > table > tbody > tr:nth-child(3) > td:nth-child(1)

#ctl00_mainIndexContent_pnlRisultati > table > tbody > tr:nth-child(3) > td:nth-child(2)

#ctl00_mainIndexContent_pnlRisultati > table > tbody > tr:nth-child(3) > td:nth-child(3)

what I have to write in the field css selector of FME

to retrieve the data ?

thx in advance

Francesco

12 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @checcosisani, you can just set those CSS Selector strings to the "CSS Selector" column in the Extract Queries table of the HTMLExtractor parameters, if "body" stores an HTML document which contains elements pointed by the CSS Selectors.

For example:

Badge +11

Hi @checcosisani, you can just set those CSS Selector strings to the "CSS Selector" column in the Extract Queries table of the HTMLExtractor parameters, if "body" stores an HTML document which contains elements pointed by the CSS Selectors.

For example:

Hi Takashi

thx for quick reply but unfortunaltely id doesn't work

I sent you the wb with the url

I've tried a lot of combinations of css query but without success.

the goal at the end is to obtain also a list of data

Thx

Farncesco

test_css_tmp.fmw

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @checcosisani, you can just set those CSS Selector strings to the "CSS Selector" column in the Extract Queries table of the  HTMLExtractor parameters, if "body" stores an HTML document which contains elements pointed by the CSS Selectors.

For example:

0684Q00000ArLInQAN.png