Question

How to extract data from website using HTTPCaller? (SRU) -> return is XML

Badge

Hi all,

FME beginner here.

I'm trying to process data from a Dutch government website.

One can request data using search keys in the URL (SRU I believe?) - the response is an XML.

e.g.

https://zoek.officielebekendmakingen.nl/sru/Search?version=1.2&operation;=searchRetrieve&x-connection;=oep&startRecord;=1&maximumRecords;=10&query;=title=%rotonde%

I'm trying to put in multiple search strings and process the results / output in FME.

What I have now:

Excel file with search strings connected to HTTPCaller.

HTTPCaller setup:

Request URL has "@Value(Search string)" referring to input Excel file

Output / errors:

*Edit

When inspecting the _response_body it seems I do have some XML data.

My next question, how to process this data? What transformers should I use next?

Many thanks,

Ed

16 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +30

Hi @edhere,

I tried to look this URL in my browser but its wrong.

Userlevel 4
Badge +30
Hi @edhere, what kind of data do you like to make download?

Danilo

Badge

For me, its working with the browser and HTTPCaller (the _response_body attribute contains the returned XML).

Userlevel 4
Badge +25
When you say "no luck", what happens? Is there a crash? An error message? Or just a feature is output with no data? Can you post a screenshot of the transformer parameters, so that we can see what settings you are using? Thanks!

Userlevel 4
Badge +30

Hi @edhere,

I tried to look this URL in my browser but its wrong.

I tried it now in my machine and its works. :)
Badge

Hi all,

Thanks for your responses. I have updated the start post with more info.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks,

Ed
Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @edhere,

> What transformers should I use next?