Solved

Finding Parent Child connection between nodes within a network tree

Hi all!

I am new to FME. I am trying to find parent child connections within a network tree.

For example, there are nodes or objects called "CP". All CP's are connected to "TX"s.

I would like to find which CP is connected to which TX. Multiple CP's can be connected to a TX. I would like to export a table like the following:

CP TX

1 1

2 1

3 1

4 2

4 2

Which suggests 3 CPs are connected to TX 1 and which ones. There is a whole network of lines connecting them. So I have to somehow trace those lines until a CP connects to a TX. Sometimes CP's are connected to TX's via multiple line segments

I am looking at SpatialFilter, PointOnLineOverlayer or ShortestPathFinder. As I mentioned, I am quite new to FME and having a difficult time getting started. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

icon

Best answer by david_r 6 December 2016, 16:51

View original

15 replies

Userlevel 4

You can probably use the FeatureMerger for this, if you already have the attributes linking the CP / TX datasets. Set the CP as the Requestor and the TX as the Supplier.

Badge +16

In case a spatial relation needs to take place a LineOnLineOverlayer or TopologyBuilder with a list generated will provide you with all the accumulated attributes.

You can probably use the FeatureMerger for this, if you already have the attributes linking the CP / TX datasets. Set the CP as the Requestor and the TX as the Supplier.

Hi david_r

There are no attributes linking CP and TX. They are two different sets of feature types. I am not sure how FeatureMerger could be used without adding the lines (secondary conductors) into the transformer somehow.
Userlevel 4
Hi david_r

There are no attributes linking CP and TX. They are two different sets of feature types. I am not sure how FeatureMerger could be used without adding the lines (secondary conductors) into the transformer somehow.