Solved

Minecraft to IFC (Revit)

• 8 September 2017
  • 7 replies

Hello to All!

I am new to FME and I am lost, I hope you could help me. My goal is to convert a Minecraft World to the IFC file format. The Minecraft World is very small, it is a void and has only one object. The object can be divided in 3 elements by material. I want to generate one output file with each element as an object in IFC. I also want to transfer the materials, if this is possible.As far as I understand, FME can read the Minecraft World only as a Point Cloud. I couldn't find a way to use the geometry or somehow recreate it for the IFC writer. I saw the AutoCAD to IFC conversion example, Reading Point Clouds and the How to make Minecraft worlds examples, and read the related Q&A;, but I am still struggling.I am uploading my files here:

Thanks,Victoria P.S.My version of FME: FME Desktop 2017.1 Student License My version of Minecraft: 1.12.1 OS: Windows 10
icon

Best answer by dmitribagh 8 September 2017, 20:46

View original

7 replies

@Mark2AtSafe @dmitribagh

Userlevel 2
Badge +11

Hi @vi,

Minecraft format is a point cloud, so reading as a point cloud is the only possibility. Then, of course, we can turn it into anything what makes sense, including an IFC model.

You can replace the points with cubes, which can be written to IFC. So, coerce your point cloud to points, get the coordinates of each point (CoordinateExtractor), build a square (2DBoxReplacer, where point's x and y are minimal coordinates, and x+1, y+1 are the maxes), then 3DForcer can bring them to z, and Extruder up 1 unit will make cubes.

The cubes then can go to IFC (for example, as ifcSlab). I just made a little test, which seems to generate a reasonable IFC.