Solved

Testing on a group of rows

• 25 August 2017
  • 7 replies

Badge

Hi everyone!

I'm new to FME (using 2016) and have a question that keeps bothering me.

I have an excel sheet with inspection results from a different company, these are based on different parts of an object. Each row is a different part of the object, with a column with specific inspection results. If any of the parts of the object has a value in the inspection column, I need the entire object to be copied to an output sheet. If none of the parts of an object has a value, the entire object needs to go to a different output sheet.

The input looks like this (simplified).

And the result should look like this:

The objects with any row that contains a value in InspectionResult

The objects with without a row that contains a value in InspectionResult

It seems so easy, it looks like testing on a group but I can't figure out a solution. I tried selecting (tester) only the rows with a value, make a list of unique value of objectnumbers (list builder) and merge them again to the original table (FeatureMerger). Tried a loop in a custom transformer to.

Any help would be great.

Thanks!

Casper

icon

Best answer by mark2atsafe 25 August 2017, 19:39

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

Have a look at the Tester transformer.

It can test if a selected attribute has a value.

If yes it will output through the Passed port else through the Failed port.

The test can be combined for multiple attribues using the AND boolean logic.

Userlevel 4
Badge +30

Hi @casper,

I simulated here using a tester to filter Inspection contains X.

After i used a FeatureMerger and this transformer generate a attribute called numReferences.

Again i used a FeatureMerger to compare by Objectnumber:

Attached the workspace template.

Thanks, - workspace-excel.fmwt

Danilo

Userlevel 2
Badge +16