Solved

How to update multiple attributes in an element in the XMLUpdater from an FME list?

• 17 January 2020
  • 9 replies

Badge +2

Hi everyone.

I am new to XML and am having some difficulties using the XMLUpdater and XQuery. My issue is around updating 3 attributes within an xml element from 3 attributes in an FME list to create multiple children. When I do this for a record which has say 2 items in the list it’s producing 9 children instead of 2, do I need to group my data somewhere in my XQuery?

I’ve attached a sample workbench and data.

I am reading an Excel document, then creating a list of all LCS_Codes and their measures per TAC_Code. I then want this list to form the children of a location element within my XML. So I’d hope to go from something like this:

Input table:

To this output XML text:

<tractionCurrentSection id="M58">

<location>

<part idEl="B077/MSBFA" startPos="0" endPos="149.302"></part>

<part idEl="B077/MSBLO" startPos="0" endPos="133.761"></part>

</location>

However I’m getting this:

<tractionCurrentSection id="M58">

<location>

<part idEl="B077/MSBFA" startPos="0" endPos="133.761"></part>

<part idEl="B077/MSBFA" startPos="0" endPos="133.761"></part>

<part idEl="B077/MSBLO" startPos="0" endPos="149.302"></part>

<part idEl="B077/MSBLO" startPos="0" endPos="149.302"></part>

</location>

</tractionCurrentSection>

I think the above is putting each part of the list to each part of the list, hence me having 9 children instead of 2 for the 3 attributes I’m updating. Is there a way I can tell the Xquery to group by the list entry instead?

XQuery:

<location>{

for $list in fme:get-list-attribute("_list{}.LCS_CODE") for $Startlist in fme:get-list-attribute("_list{}.Start Meterage 1") for $Endlist in fme:get-list-attribute("_list{}.End Meterage 1")

return <part idEl="{$list}" startPos="{$Startlist}" endPos="{$Endlist}" />

}</location>