Question

Python Caller for two Feature class

• 21 January 2019
  • 8 replies

Badge

Hello.

I am very new to python and need some help. I am trying to snap a polygon file to Polyline. I have two Feature class which I want to use in Python caller. And there in the transformer, I want to copy a python script which is exported from the model builder in ArcGIS. Can I use one transformer Python caller for both feature class? And also can I copy the script as it is in the python script window of Python caller.

8 replies

Userlevel 4

The PythonCaller can only process a single feature at a time. If you need to process more than one feature, you can e.g. use a FeatureMerger first to assemble a single feature with all the necessary information before sending it to the PythonCaller.

Also, you need to wrap the code in either a function or a class instance, see

https://knowledge.safe.com/articles/60319/pythoncaller-transformer.html

Badge

Hi @david_r. Thanks for the reply. But since I am totally unaware of how python script works. I am not able to execute what you are saying. I thought i just need to join two feature class and copy the script from arcpy. Is there any possibility of elaborating the answer if you are aware of Snap_edit function in ArcGIS.

Badge +3

@david_r

..erhmm

the link you posted quickly reveals that "..process one feature at a time or a class where you may want to do things to groups of features. The PythonCaller.."

Badge +3

You could use the SnappingFactory in a Pythoncaller. (not licensed for base edition I read here..)

and be done with arcpy.

Userlevel 4

@david_r

..erhmm

the link you posted quickly reveals that "..process one feature at a time or a class where you may want to do things to groups of features. The PythonCaller.."

I think the keyword here is the first few words of the post: "I am very new to python" ;-)

But yeah, anything's possible with Python.

Userlevel 4