Solved

How do I map values from a source to a target table using a crosswalk table

Badge

Hi -

I am attempting to translate and map attribute values from a source table to a target table. The image above is an example of what I'm trying to accomplish (not actual data.) I have created a crosswalk table using the frequency GP tool in ArcGIS that maps the original values to the the desired translations to be stored in the target table. I assume the processor to use is the attribute value mapper but I haven't had much luck. I'm new to FME so could be "pilot error." Thanks.

icon

Best answer by mark_f 6 March 2016, 22:21

View original

10 replies

Badge +2

Looks like a case for the SchemaMapper transformer. There's a good tutorial here

https://knowledge.safe.com/articles/1136/schemamap...

Quite a challeging transformer if you're new to FME and may require the cross walk structure to be reformatted. The AttributeValueMapper could work but wouldn't use an external file for the definitions except to import from a file.

Badge +2

@daveyourguide Here's an example (below) FME Template with the AttributeValueMapper and SchemaMapper reading from your example (in Excel), writing to Excel workbook with multiple worksheets. Your example source data and the schema mapping lookup is included.

Essentially in the SchemaMapper you are using the values in the SchemaMapperLookup.csv and specifying:

Filter Features (where this attribute equals this value)

Set New Attribute (new attribute with a new value - could be the same attribute by the way)

Badge

@daveyourguide Here's an example (below) FME Template with the AttributeValueMapper and SchemaMapper reading from your example (in Excel), writing to Excel workbook with multiple worksheets. Your example source data and the schema mapping lookup is included.

Essentially in the SchemaMapper you are using the values in the SchemaMapperLookup.csv and specifying: