Question

loop through features

• 5 January 2017
  • 4 replies

Hi,

I am quite new in FME and I have a bit of hard time with nested loop.

From a Tester transformer (Tester_2), some of my data could pass my stated condition and some couldn't. In the attributes of passed and failed data, there is a field that contains different values and some of which are identical in the both output date from Tester_2. The values are integers and the name of field is vegdekke_objectid.

What I want to do is to use the failed data and cross-check them, feature by feature, with the features of passed data based on the field value (vegdekke_objectid). In doing so, I was thinking to create a loop transformer by means of Custom Transformer and have a Tester transformer within the loop. The loop then would iterate and compare one feature at the time in the failed data with the features in the passed data. If no matching value is find for a feature in the failed data, then the feature is considered as the output of the loop transformer. Otherwise, the loop reads the next feature in the failed data and perform the same evaluation until it reads all features in the failed data.

One thing that you may notice from the wrokbench processes is that I created a new attribute based on the field value (vegdekke_objectid) of passed data and called it "nottobeselected". The idea is to compare the value in the loop in two different fields.

I tried the discribed methodological approach, but it seems I am missing or misunderstanding some parts in FME. I highly appreciate your help and thanks for the time you are spending.

Best regards

4 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +25

I think a FeatureMerger would be a better way of approaching this. Use it in place of your custom transformer, put the Tester_2_Failed features in as Requestors and the others as Suppliers, then match on vegdekke_objectid / nottobeselected and then if I understand you correctly you'll want the NotMerged output.

Badge

Hi @bobakebi