Question

Convert polygon SHP -> DGN, that shows arrow head along the polygon boundary

• 10 November 2014
  • 6 replies

Hi,

I am a beginner in FME and have very limited knowledge of it. I would like to join a polygon shape file, with an Excel spreadsheet that shares a common ID , then convert the joined file to DGN.

My shape file looks like this :

The attribute table:

Spreadsheet:

For the result, I would like to have the DGN showing arrow heads along the polygons, pointing to the area with the lower population:

This is getting way harder that I thought it would be. Would someone help me please? Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much!!!!

6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17
Hi,

I tried creation of lines which orient to neighbor polygons having less population from a polygon having greater population. Red lines in this image are the result.

The result was generated by the following procedure. It might become a prototype for your solution.

Assume that the source polygons are topologically clean.

Step 1

1) Send all the polygons to a ToplogyBuilder. The transformer adds "_arc_id", "_left_polygon", "_right_polygon" to the output lines, and adds "_polygon_id" to the output areas. The following processes will use those attributes.

2) Select shared boundary lines by the Tester.

0 < _left_polygon AND 0 < _right_polygon

3) Merge population of left side polygon to each boundary line (FeatureMerger).

Join On: "_left_polygon" to "_polygon_id"

Supplier Prefix: left_

4) Merge population of right side polygon to each boundary line (FeatureMerger_2).

Join On: "_right_polygon" to "_polygon_id"

Supplier Prefix: right_"

Step 2

5) Determine which side has greater population (Tester_2).

left_population < right_population

6) Reverse orientation of the Passed lines, so that the left population is greater (Orientor).

7) Send all the lines to the AttributeCreator to create an attribute named "_point_order".

_point_order = 1