Question

Manipulation of an complex excel file

• 5 September 2017
  • 7 replies

Hi,

I am new in FME. I have an excel file, that have a complex format, because base on Sub-Area, I have to only take certain parameters to do calculations. For example, for sub-area P01 I should get: Total cost, A+B and T+U and the same for P02. Something important to mention is that I can have several subareas and grouping the data have been a challenge for the way that the I get the data.

I hope somebody can help me,

Thanks

7 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +30

Hi @delgadojeaneth,

Could you share us a sample you excel?

Thanks,

Danilo

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

Checking out the FME Desktop training for Excel recorded training session could give you some additional ideas.

Hi @delgadojeaneth,

Could you share us a sample you excel?

Thanks,

Danilo

Hi Danilo,

Here it is the file test2.xlsx.

Thank you very much

Userlevel 4
Badge +13
Hi @delgadojeaneth, are you able to provide a few more details on your workflow? Can you provide an example of the input and expected output?

Badge +11
Hi @delgadojeaneth, are you able to provide a few more details on your workflow? Can you provide an example of the input and expected output?

Check the reply on danilo_inovacao comment's. delgadojeaneth has replied with the Excel File example.

Badge +3

You can use variable setters to do that.

At the reader parameter set has filed name row to "no".

Test and set variable

if column A= sub area name then value = column B

Same for row total cost.

Then come the costs which u can use for instance stringsearcher regexp [A-Z]{1} and then set variable to column A and v

If all sub areas are stacked in same column range, then your done. If not then you must adres the columns with mod (nr-of-columns-per_subarea). Depending on how many you have you might want to turn the column letters to a value by concatenating the character codes.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17