Question

Control quantity of surfaces for curved solids when reading DWG and writing OBJ?

• 8 November 2017
  • 4 replies
  • 1 view

Badge

We are using FME to read DWG and write OBJ. OBJ only supports flat surfaces, so objects such as cylinders in the DWG are converted to flat surfaces in OBJ. Which DWG reader parameter I should look for to increase the number of flat surfaces written to the OBJ?

I have an existing fme workbench made by someone else, and I'm new to fme. Thanks much for any quick help from the community!

4 replies

Badge

Hi @rogerrapp,

I don't think this is possible... Not on the DWG Reader side nor the OBJ Writer side.

I don't have experience with DWG curved solids myself, so I'm not sure to which geometries they are converted by FME? Did you try already, or did you simply run a quick conversion from DWG -> OBJ? Either way, I am pretty sure that the geometry is triangulated into surfaces by the OBJ writer and not already by the DWG reader.

Unfortunately, you don't have any control over the OBJ writer triangulation process, but you could do it yourself in FME, so the OBJ writer will simply write out what you created. If those curved solids are read as extrusions created from an ellipse or arc, you could obtain that shape and convert it into a stroked circle polygon using an ArcStroker. Then, extrude it again and pass it through a Triangulator.

If you want, I could look into it for you (tomorrow... first need some sleep), if you have an example DWG for me!

Sander

Badge

Hi @Sander,