Question

Is there a transformer for calculating "Directional distribution" ellipspoids (spatial statistics)?

Badge

Hi

I am a GIS Manager working in a police force in the UK.

Our crime analysts use ArcMap and use the "directional distribution" spatial statistics tool (toolbox) to look at directional distribution of crime.

see link: http://desktop.arcgis.com/en/arcmap/10.3/tools/spatial-statistics-toolbox/directional-distribution.htm

We would like to create those as an output of a workflow which would be automated on a large scale and on a regular basis - however i can't find anything about that kind of spatial statistics tool in FME on the web.

At the moment we have an alternative using HullAccumulator to create a area shape from key locations eliminating outliers... but we would like something a little bit more ellispoidal.

Apologies but i can not send sample data etc. as senstitive information. Just wanted to know if any of you had some ideas on what is the equivalent FME transformer.

THANK YOU ALL.

15 replies

Badge +3

How about using R in an RCaller transformer? Or arcpy in a PythonCaller, and calling that ArcGIS tool you mention?

Badge +10

There isn't a transformer to do the same but I believe there is code for calculating a Standard Deviation Ellipse in R or you could use a pythoncaller to call the ArcPy function. The latter is probably the better option for consistency if other areas will continue using Arc to perform the analysis as there are slightly different methods which will produce different results. You could also do the math within FME itself.

Badge

Thanks both - yes I did not think about that! there are so many transformers, I just thought I was missing something.

Many thanks! :-)

Userlevel 4
Badge +25