Solved

how do i detect 2D lines and how to change height of these lines base on some attribute

• 29 August 2016
  • 8 replies

First let me say that I'm extremely new to fme environment.

I have a shape file that have lines with or without elevation.

My problem is that i need to separate these 2D lines, and to set the elevation base on 1 attributes in the feature and also export the other 2D lines that has the very same attribute null.

These 2 types of lines need to be exported separately.

In one export i need to export all 3D features (including the original 3D and the one that i created with the attribute value) and in the other one only the feature that has no elevation

icon

Best answer by mark2atsafe 29 August 2016, 17:09

View original

8 replies

Badge +16

Hi,

Welcome to the wonderful world of FME!

To force something into 3D based on an attribute see the 3DForcer transformer, just type 3D in the canvas and select the correct transformer.

Where do you need to export these lines to? which target format?

Userlevel 2
Badge +12

To test if a feature is 2D or 3D I would extract the coordinates of the first vertex (CoordinateExtractor using index = 0) with a default value for Z being -9999. These are the default settings for the transformer.

Next you can test (Tester) for all features having Z=-9999.

Then as @itay said use the 3DForcer on the features having Z=-9999 to set the Z value from the selected attribute.

To test if a feature is 2D or 3D I would extract the coordinates of the first vertex (CoordinateExtractor using index = 0) with a default value for Z being -9999. These are the default settings for the transformer.

Next you can test (Tester) for all features having Z=-9999.

Then as @itay said use the 3DForcer on the features having Z=-9999 to set the Z value from the selected attribute.

well these 2D lines has actually Z=0

And it might be also polylines not just lines.