Question

Find shapefiles in a folder, merge together and write output

• 23 April 2020
  • 3 replies

Hi there,

I am fairly new to FME so please go easy!

I'm looking to do the following task, broken down into the following steps:

1. Search through a folder to locate shapefiles (all line primitives)
  2. Set some criteria to filter which shapefiles I want to keep
  3. Merge & Dissolve the shapefiles
  4. Write the output to a geodatabase

For Step 1 I believe I need to use the 'Directory and File Pathnames' reader, with a *.shp path filter.

For Step 4 I understand I need an Esri Geodatabase writer.

For the rest, I am a bit lost...

How do I then inspect what FME has found in Step 1?

What are some useful transformers I could use at each step?

3 replies

Badge +2

@bogus I would strongly recommend that you sit in on one of our online training classes (instructor lead or on-demand) that would go over most of what you need here and help you be productive in workbench - all at no cost.

I've attached an example workflow that covers many of the steps you described. If you don't understand a step then searching the KnowledgeBase will probably bring up a short tutorial.

Example workspace (FME 2020): Shape2Geodb.fmwt

Badge +3

You are on the right track @bogus .

1. Yes, use a Directory and File Pathnames Reader. This will output all the files or optionally you can set a File Path Filter in the Reader to *.SHP. It doesn't matter as you can also do this Filter within the Workspace using an AttributeFilter (by path_extension), the choice is yours and they will perform virtually the same.

2. The first part of the Workspace, use AttributeFilters, Testers and/or TestFilters to set the criteria for which files you want to keep.