Question

Add country attribute by searching for words

• 3 December 2013
  • 4 replies
  • 1 view

Hello, 

I am fairly new to using FME but I wanted to solve a problem using this software.

I have a spreadsheet with all kinds of different newsarticles wich I would like to spatially assign (automatically) to a specific country. In the newsarticles, a country name is often mentioned. I was thinking if there was a way to use some kinf of search transformer which could search for country names (in the articles) and also add a new attribute value (the country name it was assigned to).

I have two readers, the spreadsheet and a shp file of all the countries. It would prove usefull to read all the different search options (all the countries) from the shp file.

Any suggestions? thx in advance

4 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17
Hi,

Just an idea. Assume the spreadsheet feature has an attribute named "article", the shape feature has an attribute named "country", an article could contain multiple country names.