Solved

Inserting a filled database table into a template table

• 24 February 2020
  • 6 replies
  • 1 view

Hello community, I'm quite new to fme and I've been stumbling on something that might be easier than i think. Basically i have a filled access database table and I'm trying to fit these filled records into a template table. This template has less column headers/attribute names than the source. I'm trying to get the values that do no longer have a place to be put into a string. I have managed that, however I'm trying to have this long string be readable by having the attribute value be preceeded by the attribute name. I'll give an example below: (sorry I'm currently only on mobile so writing it out is a bit harder)

Old

Fruits vegetables grains soup

Apple cauliflower bread tomatosoup

New:

Fruits vegetables other

Apple cauliflower grains: bread, soup: tomatosoup

This is just an example. The real table has like 52 fields per records that has to fit into 30. I hope anyone can help me out.

icon

Best answer by takashi 24 February 2020, 11:57

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @senteria, If you know which attributes should be integrated into the "other" field, you can just create desired value with AttributeManager (or AttributeCreator or StringConcatenator), as in:

Hi @senteria, If you know which attributes should be integrated into the "other" field, you can just create desired value with AttributeManager (or AttributeCreator or StringConcatenator), as in:

Thank you so much, Takashi! The answer was in front of me all along but i have been staring myself blindly. I was using a schema reader and had split the attribute names from the source table with a feature merger. I was trying to automate it by having it read the structure and automatically combine the attribute names that do not match the schema be put into a new attribute. Thanks again for the solution. I am not sure what i was attempting is even possible.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17