Question

Outputting individual Excel row and jpg image to an individual PDF report

Badge

Hi All,

I have an xls spreadsheet, lots of rows, each row is an individual record with various data in each column.

I also have a folder of jpgs, each jpg named to match 1 value in a column.

I am looking to produce a single pdf for each xls row and its associated photo.

I am still learning my way around FME but I've tried an Excel Reader and Jpeg Reader joined by jpg filename/column attribute, then put into PDFPageformatter then fanned out by joined attribute but for the life of me I can't work out why the xls does not show on the PDF, just blank. Photo will show though.

Am I missing a step? Would really appreciate any advice?

Many thanks in advance,

Amgaad

15 replies

Badge +16

Hi @amgaad, have a look at the PDFStyler transformer and possibly aggregating the xls data into one feature per column before writing to PDF.

Hope this helps.

Badge

Hi @amgaad, have a look at the PDFStyler transformer and possibly aggregating the xls data into one feature per column before writing to PDF.

Hope this helps.

Thanks a lot @itay will take a look!
Badge +2

This article is a good starting point for creating PDF output. Not quite what you're trying to accomplish, but it should illustrate all the pieces you need.

Badge

This article is a good starting point for creating PDF output. Not quite what you're trying to accomplish, but it should illustrate all the pieces you need.

Thanks a lot @MarkAtSafe

Badge