Question

How to remove empty rows in text files? StringReplace

• 26 November 2013
  • 10 replies

First off, I am a beginner to FME, so bare that in mind.

I have a .txt (notepad) file that contains useful data, but first I need to remove anything superfluous and redundant like extra spaces and empty rows. I am using the StringReplace transform and the text (advanced) editor and I am running FME 2013. Replacing extra spaces was easy but I cannot find out how to replace empty rows (or more than one empty row) with the available commands in FME text editor (fyi: rows are empty- no characters) I used to do this same thing in MS Word with replace ^P^P with ^P but cannot find a working command in the FME text editor to do this. I have searched the documentation, forums and elsewhere, but cannot find how to do. Do those commands just not work, or am I doing something wrong? Thanks.

10 replies

Userlevel 4
Hi,

how about using the Tester and test for "Attribute is empty"?

If you need to use the StringReplacer you can use the regular expression ^$ to denote an empty string. (^ = start of line, $ = end of line)

You might also want to use the AttributeTrimmer first, just in case there are some spaces in your otherwise empty string.

David

Badge +3
Hi,

A txt or csv reader is serial.

Each row's content is stored in text_line_data.

U can check wether a row is empty and skip or discard it.

Just make a stringsearcher with regexpression ^$ on text_line_data.
Thank you both for your info. The Tester (Attribute is empty) worked great, it removed the empty rows. But I cannot get the StringReplacer 'Text to find' regular expression  ^$ to do anything. I will be needing to use the the string replacer for other variants. FYI: I am assuming that leaving the 'Replacement text' box blank will remove the row once found in StringReplacer. 
Userlevel 4
Hi,

there is an imporant distinction between the StringReplacer and the Tester: