Question

How to get volumes of cityGML buildings (multisurfaces, ground, wall, roof)?

• 24 November 2016
  • 4 replies

Is there a maximum amount of features while using the VolumeCalculator?

Actually i am trying to get volumes (of buildings) from several cityGMLs (LoD2,multisurfaces). I am a total newbie to FME and unfortunalety i couldn't find a suiting tutorial for my problem.

So far i tested this Workbench workflow:

cityGML Reader->GeometryValidator->SolidBuilder->VolumeCalculator-> Inspector.

Works for cityGMLs up to 600 buildings, but not more. I guess, my approach is totally wrong?Or is there a way to subdivide cityGMLs in FME? I got cityGMLs with up to 14 000 buildings.

Thanks

4 replies

Badge +16

Hi @jobiber, seems strange to me that there should have a cap for the amount of features to process, hopefully somebody from Safe can give a better answer.

Hi @jobiber, seems strange to me that there should have a cap for the amount of features to process, hopefully somebody from Safe can give a better answer.

Hey itay, thanks for the answer.

What do you think of the workflow so far? Do i have to add any other transformers? Or is it the correct approach? There is as well the problem of not getting the attributes through the transforming process. The moment i try to "group by [gml_parent_id]" in the SolidBuilder, to get an ID according to my calculated volumes at least, everthing brakes down. Maybe the AttributExtractor?

Is nobody here on board who calculated volumes out of CityGMLs before and could help me?

Thanks a lot..

Badge +16
Hey itay, thanks for the answer.

What do you think of the workflow so far? Do i have to add any other transformers? Or is it the correct approach? There is as well the problem of not getting the attributes through the transforming process. The moment i try to "group by [gml_parent_id]" in the SolidBuilder, to get an ID according to my calculated volumes at least, everthing brakes down. Maybe the AttributExtractor?