Question

Is there an easy way to filter the 6 oldest years of data and then export as separate .xls for each year, please?

Badge

Hello, I'm relatively new to FME so apologies if this is a simple question.

My data includes dates with the earliest being 2006 and the latest being 2019. My aim is to filter this to only include the oldest 6 years worth of dates (however, this is subject to change as the data is updated so it needs to be a fluid filter). I would like to further split this data into each separate year. I have tried using the fanout expression but I'm not entirely sure how to format this. When I tried this it also didn't seem to output all the dates per year. Is there a transformer that would be best for this task?

Thanks very much

10 replies

Badge

Hello @hp127, I'm not an expert by any means but I think I can help with this;

Open FME > Generate > Select reader and writer

1. Date field = year? or just date? (if Date and you need to clean it look at bottom picture)

1. if year > use AttributeFilter
      1. select the year field > type the years you want to filter for
        1. Or you can select Import... for list > pick same table as reader and pick same field it will auto import. Great for 50 different options.

Reader and Writer

AttributeFilter Parameters and Import Wizard

Here is mine after it worked:

AttributeCreator if you need to clean up a date field so you only select Year (this is just a @Left)

Badge

@hp127 Sorry I forgot to add how to Write to Excel in my answer:

Writer Excel, name it anything and select the correct save location

double click on the writer and name it the year you want "2006" > drag the AttributeFilter output for 2006 to it.

Right click on the Writer 2006 > Duplicate > double click on the new writer and type 2007 in name > drag 2007 from Filter to writer.

My sample 2005 naming

Attribute Filter to Writers:

Userlevel 4
Badge +25

That's a great question.