Question

WFS write to PostGIS result failed to open in ArcGIS. Error: The field is not nullable

• 27 April 2020
  • 1 reply

Hi,

I'm a bit new to FME so pardon me if the question is basic:

I use FME Workbench 2018.1.

I have a PostGIS table with 1035 polygon features which needs to be updated (Table A). The update source is a WFS layer with 27 polygon features, among which 26 are updated features and 1 new feature to be added to Table A.

The workflow is as follows:

1. Since the WFS has a different schema to Table A, I use AttributeManager to make the WFS attribute table consistent with Table A.

2. I use Tester to filter out the 1009 features that don't need to be updated.

3. I write the filtered 1009 features and the 27 updated/new features from WFS to Table A, hoping to get an updated layer with 1036 features. I have the following feature type settings:

-Table A has a column 'gdb_geomattr_data' which seems to store geometry, so I set the Spatial Column of the writer as 'gdb_geomattr_data'

-Table definition set to 'Automatic'

-Create Generic Spatial Columns: No

-Bulk Insert: No

-Table name: Table A

-Geometry: postgis_geometry

-Feature Operation: Insert

-Table Handling: Drop and Create

Unfortunately, although the translation succeeded and looks all good in Inspector, when I tried to load the layer in ArcGIS, an error popped up: 'Error opening feature class. The field is not nullable.'

Anyone know what that means and where went wrong?

Thanks a million.

1 reply

Userlevel 4
Badge +26

OK, so looks like there is a field getting created which ESRI doesn't like (https://support.esri.com/en/technical-article/000010006 )

Have you been able to inspect the PostGIS table in FME with a PostGIS reader? Does it look ok?