Question

write all attributes gml

• 20 June 2017
  • 8 replies

Badge +1

Hi,

I'm new to gml so probably this is simple question.

If I'm writing to gml and all features have <missing> (or null or empty) attribute called "my_attribute" then "something" wont be written to output GML. How to write it regardles?

8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +16

You will need to give the attribute a value using the NullAttributeMapper.

I would for example add a space to all null attributes to force them to the output.

Badge +1

You will need to give the attribute a value using the NullAttributeMapper.

I would for example add a space to all null attributes to force them to the output.

Hi @erik_jan

No, I don't want space sign, zero sign, empty quotation marks... I'd like to have null value in according attribute in gml.

Thank you for your reply

Userlevel 2
Badge +16
Hi @erik_jan

No, I don't want space sign, zero sign, empty quotation marks... I'd like to have null value in according attribute in gml.

Thank you for your reply

Then the only option I see is using the XMLTemplater transformer to create the GML and write using the Text writer.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @zzupljanin, if you mean that "null value" for the destination GML is an empty XML element like <my_attribute />, I think you can still use the NullAttributeValueMapper to assign Empty String to the <missing> attribute, so that an empty XML element will be written.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @zzupljanin, if you mean that "null value" for the destination GML is an empty XML element like <my_attribute />, I think you can still use the NullAttributeValueMapper to assign Empty String to the <missing> attribute, so that an empty XML element will be written.

Or, even if you need to write a text value "null" (i.e. <my_attribute>null</my_attribute>) when the attribute is <missing>, <empty>, or <null>, the NullAttributeValueMapper is still helpful. I'm unclear the actual requirement anyway...

Userlevel 4
Badge +25