Question

Extract image from Google / Bing

• 10 November 2017
  • 3 replies

Hi all,

I'm very new to FME and GIS so sorry if I get any terminology wrong!

To give you a run down, I've created a TIN surface from an ESRIASCIIGRID file. I have then extracted the boundary of this to get a footprint in a .shp file.

With this, I am trying to download a satellite image from either google earth or google/bing maps (to drape over the surface later).

Attempt 1:

Import the .shp file into google earth, I then attempted to export an image from the extents of the polygon from the .shp file. I can't figure out a way to do this so I've just saved an image from google earth manually with 4K resolution, showing the extents of the polygon in red.

Is there a way for FME to detect a red polygon and to clip the image around this? Would it then be possible to add geo-spatial data to this image to match the previously created surface?

I have read through this post but am unable to get it to work, but thankyou @takashi as it's helping me to better understand FME.

Attempt 2:

Using googles static maps API. I have read through this post (thankyou @jdh) and the google maps API documentation and have been able to view an image, but the highest resolution I can get is 640x640. I also have the same issue of clipping its extents to the boundray of the surface.

Thankyou to everyone who has taken their time to read through this, If I am going around this the wrong way and there is a much simpler solution I would appreciate any thoughts.

Thankyou again,

TJ

EDIT: I have just managed to use Bings static maps REST services to export an image from the extents of the surfaces bounding box. I did this by manually converting the eastings/northings to lat/long.

Is there a way in FME to do this conversion?

Thanks again,

TJ

3 replies

Badge +11