Question

XYZ Coordinates to Degrees\\Decimal

Badge

Hello.

This might be a strange question since it does not take into account the Earth. Also, I am quite new to this topic but I did research. I found a lot of things but I never got the result I wanted from various calculators and doing it manually is hard since I am not that familliar with this math.

I was wondering, is there some way to calculate XYZ -> degrees for other bodies with different radius?

For example, this is one of solved:

Planet Radius: 2094km, Earth Masses: 0.0541, X: -1786579.7, Y: 519690.56, Z: -959322.31

This equals: Latitude: 9.2921 and Longitude: -153.9814. I figured that Y and Z are Lat\\Long.

I have no idea how to get this result. Ive tried various calculators like: https://beta.ngs.noaa.gov/gtkweb/ but I just cannot get the correct numbers.

If anyone can offer any insight into this issue I would be very grateful.

Thank you.

15 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @robertk,

According to Stack Overflow (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/1185408/converting-from-longitude-latitude-to-cartesian-coordinates), the formula for calculating the spherical lat, long from what appears to be geocentric coordinates would be:

latitude = asin(Z / Radius)

longitude = atan2(Y, X)

However this formula is dependent on these condition:

• the x-axis goes through long,lat (0,0), so longitude 0 meets the equator;
  • the y-axis goes through (0,90);
  • and the z-axis goes through the poles.

This formula gives us latitude -27.26644670517016, longitude 2.858518396400994, which is quite different from your target lat/long, so it appears that those coordinates are not geocentric.

Are you able to provide any information on the source of the coordinates?

Userlevel 5
Badge +25

I know Global Mapper comes with a number of ellipsoids for celestial bodies (moon, all major planets, a few dwarf planets and moons). If I understand this correctly that's all you need really.