Question

Read XML via Web

• 25 October 2013
  • 3 replies

Hi there,

I am new to XML and the FME resources availible have been great so far.

I am stumped though.

I am trying to read a dynamic XML file via the web (similar to RSS I would assume).

At this point I can access an XML file via the web and can save this file onto my local computer. Once that is done I take this XML file and use FME to flatten it for attributes and can also add in a 2D point to populate coordinate information... I am loving the FME funcationality so far.

Where I am stuck is that I would like to have FME connect into to a web source to read an flatten the XML file instead of having to access the XML via a web browser and then save the XML file onto my local machine.

If I plug in the XML url into a FME reader I get an error, here is an example of the error:

"Sending HTTP 'GET' request to 'http://www.enetpulse.com/wp-content/uploads/sample_xml_feed_enetpulse_soccer.xml', waiting for response ...

The uri-map document 'C:\\apps\\FME\\xml\\urimap\\gml_aixm.xml' is being used to map from URI to URI

The uri-map document 'C:\\apps\\FME\\xml\\urimap\\gml_citygml.xml' is being used to map from URI to URI

The uri-map document 'C:\\apps\\FME\\xml\\urimap\\gml_inspire.xml' is being used to map from URI to URI

The uri-map document 'C:\\apps\\FME\\xml\\urimap\\gml_urimap.xml' is being used to map from URI to URI

HTTP transfer error: 'Couldn't connect to server'

XML Parser error: 'Error in input dataset:'http://www.enetpulse.com/wp-content/uploads/sample_xml_feed_enetpulse_soccer.xml' line:1 column:1 message:invalid document structure'

The XML Module halted on error, see the logfile for details"

Am I way off here? Is it possible for me to live link to a web based XML file and then parse this link to populate attributes? Does this operation require FME Server fucntionality?

Keen to know how far off base I am here!

Cheers!

3 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +13
Hi,