Question

points to lines

• 19 January 2015
  • 7 replies

Badge
Okay so I'm pretty new to both GIS and FME so keep that in mind. But my problem is that I have a sde layer with all our wells in it, what I'm trying to do is create boreholes off of both a lat long for surface and a lat long for bottom hole location. I have been able to do this without a hitch on another model though the only difference between the two is SDE and CSV. I have a vertex creator for surface hole lat long and bottom hole lat long. Have allowed geometries to geodb_polyline and it worked when reading off a csv. Reading off  SDE I get "Cannot write a non-linear feature to a polyline feature class" witch makes sense but I have made this work before... This works when writing to a shape file to the local machine also. So I'm thinking I need a extra transformer or something.. Anyway thanks for looking. 

7 replies

Userlevel 4
Hi,

sounds like there is a problem with the data you're trying to write, since SDE reports that you're trying to write a non-linear geometry (a point, maybe?) to your polyline feature class.

Try inserting a GeometryFilter, connect "Line" to your writer and "<Unfiltered>" to an Inspector to see what you've got.

David
Badge +3
Hi,

To create a line of those points u must set vertexcreator for startpoint to "replace" and the end point to "add". This will create a line.

Both set to create will just give 1 point wich is then replaced by the other point.
Badge
Hello david, thanks for your reply

Thats the thing I am indeed writing a point to a line so to speak, I have got this exact model to work in 2014 (2015 is where the problem lies). I have tried using a tester to filter out the rows that are blank on bottom hole lat long. (this gets the error to few points). But the model attached does indeed work in 2014. I just run into both these problems so often I figured that there was a better way of going about the whole thing.