Question

Attribute data to pdf

Dear community!

First of all I've to say that I'm very new in the world of FME.

I have the following problem with the conversion from a simple 2D point feature to a non-spatial pdf. I'm familiar with the transformers (PDFStyler, PDFPageFormatter) and the Adobe Geospatial PDF File - Writer which I need for my pdf output. But I've no idea how to extract the information (Atttributes) of the points and write it in a table or list (in an ordered way) in a PDF. My problem is that the attributes are distributed spatially (according to their actual location in the map) across the PDF output after the LabelPointReplacer.

thx for your help

6 replies

Badge +3

There Is a table adder in the store, though its very.. limited.

You can create insertion points spaced equal tot the amount of the attribute(s) and records.

Statistics calculator, counter, bounding box creator, attribute exploder and list operations are very useful for building the table.

Badge +2

Hi @schlofferc. Adding table to PDF is indeed not an easy task. There are several method you might want to explore. With all of the ideas below, you can pre-sort the features, using a Sorter transformer, to control the order of the table/list generated:

1. As gio mentioned, the TableAdder is a transformer you can try. Although it could be challenging to produce a nice looking table if you have a lot of columns. You can access it by simply start typing TableAdder on the main window in Workbench (we call it workbench canvas). There are some usage notes available here.
  2. It is also possible to create multiline text in the attribute of one feature, using the method suggested by Takashi here. Then, you can use PDFPageFormatter to insert this feature into the page layout. Inspiration of this idea came from this Community question.