Solved

Update a Postgres database from Excel Spreadsheet once a day

Hi everyone! I am new to the FME World and I am testing the following scenario:

Take a spreadsheet with lots of fields as input of several tables in a Postgres database. This unload should occur once a day.

Has anyone expertise on this?

Using FME Workbench 2019.1, my approach is to place the xlsx file as a reader. Then, use an attribute manager to remove certain fields and leave only those that are required for a specific table abc. After, I add an Postgres writer to to receive such information.

Is this a good approach? How/where do I drive the "insert" to a specific table? How it the scheduler implemented (if possible)?

Thanks a lot!

icon

Best answer by giosp 8 April 2020, 07:48

View original

14 replies

Badge

Hi @diogosanto,

I think your approach is correct. You can create a postgres writer for each table who you need to insert data. Each writer must have the specific field. Connecting it to the attribute manager do the job.

Do you have only fme desktop? You can schedule it on your computer by running the workspace from command line using the fme.exe and passing parameters ( example )

Hi @diogosanto,

I think your approach is correct. You can create a postgres writer for each table who you need to insert data. Each writer must have the specific field. Connecting it to the attribute manager do the job.

Do you have only fme desktop? You can schedule it on your computer by running the workspace from command line using the fme.exe and passing parameters ( example )

Hello @giosp! Thanks for the update and the clarifications provided!

I have only fme desktop at the moment. I'm gonna check example provided.

Best Regards!

Hi @diogosanto,

I have setup this configuration, but where do I specify the table name in my writer? Not very clear. My database connection already configured.

Badge