Question

write a list of gdb feature classes to excel

• 9 November 2013
  • 13 replies

Hi,

I am a total novice with FME - will be going on some training soon, however I am trying to get familiar with the software prior to that.

I have what I think is a very simple task but can't seem to figure it out.

All I want to do is create an excel file with all of the feature classes contained in my geodatabase.

My geodatabase (version 10.1 in ArcGIS) contains feature datasets - although I do not these listed in my excel output.

Sorry for asking such a basic question - I am new to the knowledge areas/and community

13 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +13
HI,

The most simple way will be to generate a new workspace (file>new>generate workspace)

Select your input gdb in the wizard as reader, select your feature classes in the table list.

Make sure that the fme_feature_type attribute (feature class in esri terninology) is exposed in the additional attributes to expose in the reader parameters.

If you are interested in the feature datasets you can also expose the geodb_feature_dataset.

Select XLS as you output format and a static schema.

You workspace will be created with a reader and a writer.

Create a user attribute in the writer (FC)

Insert a Sampler between the reader and writer, set to group by fme_feature_type, the rest is set correctly. This will sample for one feature per feature class.

Insert an AttributeCopier after the Sampler, set it to copy the fme_feature_type to FC.

Run the translation.

If you want the feature dataset too just ad a second user attribute in the writer (FD) and make sure the AttributeCopier is set to copy the geodb_feature_datset to FD.

In case something went wrong, set the XLS writer to overwrite existing file in the navigator window.

Hope this helps,

Itay

Thanks Itay.