Solved

How do you find the current fmx file path in a PythonCaller?

Badge

Hello,

I'm new to FME and I'm trying to write a PythonCaller in a Custom Transformer. I have a working standalone python program that uses the following code to load a DLL:

SourceFolder = os.path.dirname(__file__)

giqdll = WinDLL(os.path.join(SourceFolder, "LibGIQ.dll"))

When I try to use this in my PythonCaller I get the following error:

Python Exception <NameError>: global name '__file__' is not defined

Is there an FME way of finding the full path of the fmx file?

Thanks,

Paul Michell
icon

Best answer by fmelizard 9 January 2016, 08:23

View original

14 replies

Userlevel 4

Hi

Have a look at the FME_MF_DIR parameter, e.g.

import os.path
workspace_filename = FME_MacroValues['FME_MF_DIR']
workspace_dir = os.path.dirname(workspace_filename)

David

Badge

Thanks for the reply,

Yes I have seen that macro value, but it returns the file path of the workspace fmw that is using the transformer fmx. As I understand it, they are unlikely to be in the same place?

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

The "fmesuite.fmx" (regular transformers definition) is saved in "<FME_HOME>/transformers", and you can retrieve the <FME_HOME> path through a system parameter called "FME_HOME" or "FME_HOME_UNIX".

The fmx files for custom transformers are usually saved in these folders (Windows).

• C:/Users/<user name>/AppData/Roaming/Safe Software/FME/FME Store/Transformers
  • C:/Users/<user name>/Documents/FME/Transformers

However, I don't think there is a general way to retrieve the fmx file path of a specific custom transformer.

btw, why do you need to get an fmx file path?

Userlevel 4
Badge +13

Thanks for the reply,

Yes I have seen that macro value, but it returns the file path of the workspace fmw that is using the transformer fmx. As I understand it, they are unlikely to be in the same place?