Question

Merging updates into a directory

• 5 December 2013
  • 3 replies

Badge
I'm sure this is something FME should be able do.

I have a master directory of JPGs named with grid square and date thus:

SD0907_2008_16_13.jpg

and a directory of updated jpgs named thus:

SD0907_2011_08_23.jpg.

I want to merge the two directorie into a third directory containing the latest jpg for each area, retaining the date for the next iteration.  Not all tiles are updated, and I can't trust the file date, only the date embedded in the filname.

My workspace so far reads the master directory and pulls in each jpg in turn. I  parse the grid and the date into attributes using the AtrtributeSplitter and AttributeRenamer.  I create an atrtribute of the form *SD0907* and use it as the Initiator in a FeatureReader which is looking at the Updates directory.  I'm then expecting to sometimes (not every tile is updated each cycle) get a match of the area and then to be able to parse the date of the update and either write the original file or the updated file using a couple of TestFilters.   I've set the FeatureReader to keep the Result rather than the Initiator in cases of conflict which seems the right way to do it.

However, I can't seem to find the name of the updated file (fme_basename doesn't change) so I can't get the date from it. And I may be going about this in completly the wrong way but before I go of to learn Python and do it programatically I thought I'd ak the question here.

Any suggestions?

Chris BB

3 replies

Userlevel 4
Hi,

if you only need to copy the raster files without any further processing, consider using the "Directory and File Pathnames" reader in conjunction with the "File Copy" writer.

It is much quicker as FME doesn't have to parse the rasters into memory, only the file references. In other words, I'd avoid the FeatureReader and the jpg reader/writer.

David
Userlevel 2
Badge +17
Hi Chris,