Question

Shared surfaces in CityGML

• 11 September 2018
  • 7 replies

Hello there, I'm quite new to FME, and I'm trying to achieve an effective CityGML model of an historical city center in order to carry out energy analysis at urban scale.

After some hard work, I managed to transform my Shape file into CityGML LOD2 by merging a set of tutorials and best practices, and the result is satisfying.

But at the end of the process I still have a huge dubt: in my final model there is no trace of shared surfaces between buildings, which are extremely important for computation in my case. Building models are in fact "extruded" one by one, with no knowledge of their boundary conditions.

I didn't find any reference about this problem, is there someone who could please help me?

Thanks,

Cristina

7 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +11

Hi @cristinacecchin,

Have you tried using the TopologyBuilder? You can input your polygons (before extruding) to get attributes on their faces (_faces), so each polygon has knowledge of what neighboring polygon is touching it.

You could then use something like an AttributeSplitter to separate them by a comma delimiter if you wish, and merge that attribute information onto your extruded buildings using a FeatureMerger. This method would work best if your buildings were touching though. However you could fiddle with the tolerance setting in the TopologyBuilder parameters perhaps to get the desired results. Hope this helps!

Userlevel 4
Badge +26

Are you referring to xlinks in the xml? I don't think FME can handle these when writing yet. It's quite a limitation with CityGML and FME here as I understand it. Unless @DeanAtSafe or @DaveAtSafe know how to do this properly with FME?

Thank you both for your answers.