Solved

CSV file with duplicates which contains data that needs to be preserved into new columns.

• 2 January 2018
  • 7 replies

Hi all,

I'm new to FME and am trying to deal with a datset that has duplicates in. However each duplicate contains some information that I need to preserve into new columns.

A simplified version is something like this:

PropertyIDAddressContact nameContact details00011 High StreetMr Smith0121232800000011 High StreetMr Jones0121232800100022 Low StreetMr Birmingham0121232800200022 Low StreetMr Warwick01212328003

And what I need to end up with is more like this:

PropertyIDAddressContact nameContact detailsContact name 2Contact details 200011 High StreetMr Smith01212328000Mr Jones0121232800100022 Low StreetMr Birmingham01212328002Mr Warwick01212328003

It's been suggested to me to use FeatureMerger after multiple DuplicateFilters, but I can't figure out how to bring each set of filtered duplicates back in to a single dataset whilst preserving the data out of the duplicate entries.

Any help, pointers or example workspaces would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Mark

icon

Best answer by fmelizard 2 January 2018, 18:19

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +13

Hi @mrb. I hope the attached workspace template, csvduplicatehandling.fmwt helps you get started. It reads in the CSV file, combines the rows based on PropertyID using a FeatureMerger, then uses the DuplicateFilter to keep only one copy of the same rows.

Userlevel 2
Badge +17

Hi @mrb, if the maximum number of duplicates is known (e.g. 2), the Aggregator (or ListBuilder) and AttributeManager (or AttributeRenamer) might help you. e.g.

Hi @mrb. I hope the attached workspace template, csvduplicatehandling.fmwt helps you get started. It reads in the CSV file, combines the rows based on PropertyID using a FeatureMerger, then uses the DuplicateFilter to keep only one copy of the same rows.

Thank you for your reply @NatalieAtSafe.