Question

How do I find and remove funny characters?,How do I find and remove funny characters from a string?

Badge

Hi,

I have a csv data set that contains addresses and some of them contain funny characters e.g ^ and I am not sure how to find and remove them all easily? I've been using the Tester saying attribute contains ^ but this seems to be a really long process, especially with a large data set.

Also, some of the addresses contain brackets at the beginning e.g (house) 1 valley road, which I also want to remove. However, I want to keep the brackets at the end e.g Pyramids (swimming pool) as these contain useful information. The tester isn't working to narrow down how many contain brackets at the beginning and how to remove them?

Which transformer shall I use to find and remove funny characters and brackets at the beginning of text please?

Apologies if this doesn't make much sense, I am very new to FME.

Kind Regards,

Jess

14 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +30

Hi @jessbeach,

I simulated your case with a transformer AttributeCreator: att = ^Canada

The transformer StringReplacer do what you want.

In Text to Replace you write your symbol: ^

Attached the template file ( FMWT )

Thanks,

Danilo - -workspace-replace.fmwt

Userlevel 4
Badge +13

Hi @jessbeach, the method @danilo_inovacao pointed out with the StringReplacer will help you take out those odd characters such as ^. For removing the first set of brackets, I recommend checking out @courtney_m's answer to Remove Multiple Underscores.

Badge +2

Just add to @danilo_inovacao answer which replaces any ^ symbol, but you mention funny characters so possibly you have additional characters. You can still use the StringReplacer but in Replace Regular Expression Mode where you can use Regex to list the characters. But be aware some Regex characters have special meaning including ^ so you would have to escape them.

Here is an example with some funny characters.

Userlevel 4
Badge +30